Indians are in every corner of the Globe, who wants to visit our corner?

In 2015 more than 20 mil­lion Indians trav­elled abroad. In the same year India’s di­a­spora pop­u­la­tion was the largest in the world with 16 mil­lion people from India liv­ing out­side their coun­try.

These two fig­ures made us curi­ous to find out who vis­its India. The avail­able cred­ible pub­lic in­form­a­tion came from, the ori­gin­al source be­ing Ministry of Home Affairs. We were able to ag­greg­ate count of India Visa is­sued across Indian Missions abroad by year/ month/ date. The time peri­od for which data was avail­able is July 2010 till January 2014. Note: The pub­lished data was miss­ing in­form­a­tion from 33 coun­tries with Indian Mission and 9 Visa Types.

Below are the in­sights gained af­ter feed­ing the ag­greg­ated data through the Data Explorer tool

  • 2013 was the year in which largest count of Visa was is­sued
  • Most for­eign na­tion­als ap­ply for Tourist Visa, fol­lowed by Business Visa.
  • In USA most of the Visa are is­sued in New York and San Francisco Missions and not Washington DC
  • Top 5 coun­tries where most Visas are is­sued – Bangladesh, United Kingdom, United States of America, Germany and Sri Lanka
  • Top 5 coun­tries where most Employment Visa, by count, are is­sued – Germany, Japan, United Kingdom, Korea and Australia.
  • Top 5 coun­tries where most Student Visa, by count, are is­sued – Nigeria, Bangladesh, Korea, Yemen and France
  • Top 5 coun­tries where most Missionary Visa, by count, are is­sued – USA, Armenia, Norway, Egypt and Kenya
  • Interestingly Pakistan is the only coun­try where Pilgrimage Visa were is­sued per avail­able data


  • Ministry of Tourism, Registrar General of India
  • UN Survey on International Migrant Trends
  • Ministry of Home Affairs

Open your Excel Application and Plead for Forgiveness

Gramener’s Richie Lionell writes in de­fense of Excel

Image Courtesy:

I come from a tribe whose first brushes with data visu­al­iz­a­tion began with Excel. It all star­ted when my former boss in early 2011 said, “Have you heard of charts that fit in­to an Excel cell? Please can you find out what that is all about?” In-Cell charts were an eye-opener but thank­fully my eyes were also opened to what one could do with shapes, col­ors & tweaked charts. The world of Python, D3.js, design & story telling then beckoned me and it was hard to res­ist. I took the plun­ge but in the over­flow of joy that fol­lowed I haven’t left Excel be­hind.

Excel????? – People cringe and then I show them a few un­con­ven­tion­al visu­als we’ve cre­ated us­ing Excel;

Visualizing Dry Days in India – 1977 to 2005

A 0.5 grid Lat-Long weather map of India we cre­ated on Excel cells – sup­por­ted by VLOOKUP, IFERROR, a scroll­bar & con­di­tion­al format­ting – is a ma­jor draw at our Dataviz train­ings. It is a visu­al­iz­a­tion of dry days in every 0.5 de­gree Lat-Long grid from 1977 to 2005. No im­ages or shapes were used. Yup, no VBA too & cre­ated us­ing Excel 2010.

How about us­ing Excel for some story telling? This one is the story of Hollywood stars, the data com­ing from an Excel table.

Story Telling through Excel

No, the pic­tures of the celebrit­ies are not im­ages. They are Dingbat fonts (Ever wondered the use for Webdings & Wingdings?). No VBA here too, just the usu­al sus­pects – VLOOKUP, IFERROR – and a bunch of ra­dio but­tons.

Here’s a sim­u­la­tion of a chess game (Dingbats again).

Simulating a Chess Game in Excel

You can do all of the above us­ing Excel 2007. Yes, you read that right. Now open your Excel ap­plic­a­tion and plead for for­give­ness. With this new­found re­spect for Excel you can now learn how to Visualize Sensex re­turns in Excel.

Silk Board Traffic

It’s fas­cin­at­ing to watch the ebb and flow of traf­fic in Bangalore. Here’s an an­im­a­tion of the Monday traf­fic at the Silk Board junc­tion, which is no­tori­ous for con­ges­tion.

Through the night, the traf­fic is fairly slow. But from around 5:00am, a slow build-up of traf­fic starts from the south. This is mainly the com­mer­cial and bus traf­fic from Tamil Nadu en­ter­ing Bangalore, to the point that there is a jam on Hosur Road by 5:30am. This sta­bil­ises by around 6:30am though.

Up to 7:30am, the junc­tion is fairly free. From then on, the heavy traf­fic builds up on the east-west Outer Ring Road. Eastward traf­fic from BTM lay­out and Westward traf­fic from HSR lay­out get bottleneck-ed at the sig­nal. The north-south Hosur Road is re­l­at­ively free.

But by 8:30am the sig­nal is com­pletely choked and stays that way through the morn­ing.

This con­tin­ues un­til post-lunch, when the traf­fic gently lets up. At 2:30pm, Silk Board isn’t dan­ger­ous.

But by 3:30pm traf­fic starts build­ing up again to the point that by 5:30pm the sig­nal is com­pletely choked.

By 6:30pm, Silk board is a sig­nal you don’t want to cross. It would save you an hour to get off your vehicle, walk a kilo­metre across the sig­nal, and get in­to an­other vehicle.

By around 11:00pm, the traf­fic has let off.

Sunday Traffic

On the oth­er hand, Sunday is a sig­ni­fic­antly bet­ter ex­per­i­ence. There’s really heavy traf­fic only between 5:00pm to 8:00pm.

About the images

We used Selenium to take screen­shots of Bangalore traf­fic every 5 minutes from Google Maps and an­im­ated these. ImageMagick helped crop to Silk Board and an­im­ate it as GIFs.