Pro and anti incumbencies

If there’s an award for consistency, there’s only one constituency that would win that award: Chhindwara in Madhya Pradesh.  In every single election since India’s independence, the constituency has voted for the Indian National Congress. That’s a record that no other constituency holds, though Nandurbar and Sangli in Maharashtra have also voted only for Congress since their inception in 1962 and 1967 respectively.

Since its emergence in the 1980s, some constituencies have exclusively voted for BJP, and have remained BJP strongholds.

BJP Bastions

The 8 constituencies that have voted for BJP in each of the last 7 elections are Jhalawar in Rajasthan, Vidisha, Indore, Damoh, Bhopal and Bhind in Madhya Pradesh, and Surat and Gadhinagar in Gujarat.

In contrast with these strongholds, there are some constituencies that have strong anti-incumbent tendencies. First among these is Bara Banki in Uttar Pradesh. In every election since 1957, Bara Banki has voted against the incumbent. Gauhati in Assam and Monghyr in Bihar have a similar record, though they have both had only 13 elections so far.


Explore these visuals and more at

Leave a Reply